We've moved.
Visit our new home for news and updates from AdSense
Inside AdSense
Google's official blog for news, tips and information on AdSense.
Why the lower eCPM?
Friday, March 03, 2006
Now that site targeted and contextually targeted ads can be
displayed separately
in AdSense
Advanced Reports
, there seems to be some confusion about site targeted ads with lower eCPM. We'd like to explain why you should always feel assured that you're getting the best paying ads for your pages.
Site targeted ads
compete in the same auction as contextually targeted ads. They will only appear on your site if they represent a
higher eCPM
than any combination of contextually targeted ads competing to display in the same ad unit. The AdWords auction process takes into account factors such as bid price and clickthrough rate in calculating
Ad Rank
, the ranking system determining which ads will appear on your page. Opting into site targeted ads should only improve your overall revenue potential by deepening the pool of advertisements competing to display on your sites.
So why is the eCPM associated with site targeted ads sometimes lower than the eCPM associated with contextual ads in your
Advanced Reports
? The answer is that site targeted ads are most likely appearing on lower performing pages within your account – in other words, pages requiring a lower eCPM to win the AdWords ad auction. For example, say your ad unit on 'PageA.com' has an eCPM of $5.00, and a combination of contextually targeted ads are displaying. Your ad unit on 'PageB.com' has an eCPM of $1.00, and a site targeted ad is displaying because it represents the highest revenue potential for this page.
If these are the only two pages on which you are displaying AdSense ads, your
Advanced Reports
will show an eCPM of $5.00 for contextual ads, and an eCPM of $1.00 for site targeted ads. However, all of your ad units are automatically optimized to display the highest paying ads available at that moment.
Lastly, please remember that site targeted ads pay on a cost-per-thousand impressions (CPM) basis, not on a cost-per-click (CPC) basis, so you will be paid whether or not your visitors click on them. For site targeted ads, clickthrough rate does not affect eCPM since advertisers bid on a cost-per-thousand impression basis rather than a cost-per-click basis.
Posted by Suzie Dewey - AdSense Publisher Support
Labels
#GlobalSpotlight
2
#SuccessStack
9
Active View
9
Ad formats
22
Ad layout
6
Ad Placement
2
AdSense
5
AdSense Anniversary
15
AdSense features
231
adsense guide
14
AdSense In Your City
22
AdSense Interface
61
AdSense Team
31
AdSense101
13
AMP
3
AskAdSense
4
Audience Engagement
4
Beginner's
1
Best Practice
22
Beta
1
Case studies
99
Certified Partners
4
Content strategy
23
DoubleClick
17
download
3
Earnings/Reports
70
eBook
3
Education
4
engagement
1
Facts and Fiction
11
FAQs
1
Feedback
10
Google Analytics
7
Google's Certified Publishing Partner
3
googlenew
13
Guest Blogger
4
Help
2
How to avoid policy violations
1
India
1
infographic
3
International
118
Learn with Google for Publishers
17
Matched content
6
micro-moments
5
Mobile
67
Mobile optimization
3
Multi-Screen
32
Native
1
native ads
4
Newbie
32
Optimal ad placement
1
Optimization
165
Other
245
Other Google products
106
Page-Level
1
PageSpeed
10
Pakistan
1
Passion into profit
8
Payments
62
Policy
2
Pop-Unders
1
Pop-Ups
1
Product update
11
Program Policies
79
Programmatic
1
Social
19
Support
10
Tips
37
Urdu
1
User Generated Content
1
Video
41
Viewability
13
Webinars
15
YouTube
3
Archive
2019
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
May
Feb
Jan
2018
Dec
Nov
Oct
Aug
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2017
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2016
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2015
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2014
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2013
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2012
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2011
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2010
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2009
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2008
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2007
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2006
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Jul
Jun
May
Apr
Mar
Feb
Jan
2005
Dec
Nov
Oct
Sep
Aug
Feed
Subscribe to receive posts via email:
Visit this group
Follow @adsense
Useful links
Get started with AdSense
Sign in to your account
AdSense Help Center
AdSense Help Forum
Related Google products
AdMob: Monetize your app
DoubleClick for Publishers Small Business
Google AdWords
Google Analytics
Give us feedback in our
Product Forums
.